nanaxasebo.blogg.se

Eheim 2260 vs fluval fx5
Eheim 2260 vs fluval fx5










eheim 2260 vs fluval fx5
  1. #Eheim 2260 vs fluval fx5 pro#
  2. #Eheim 2260 vs fluval fx5 series#

The build quality of the FX6 is not as good as the Eheim's and that concerns me over the long run. I find that both brands of filters can be very effective. If you have reasons to ditch the sump and get a canister I would like to hear them. The 2262/1500XL is not as efficient as the FX6 since it uses 65 watts. I have looked at the fluval FX5 (up to 400 Gallon tanks) and the Eheim Prfessional wet/dry filter 2229.( up to 159 gallon tanks) My question is, what Is the main difference between using a canister filter and a sump I can have polishing pads, carbon etc in my sump. It makes for a very cheap and effective mechanical media. If you want very clear water get the 5 gallon paint strainer bags from Home Depot and stuff them with filter fiber (pillow stuffing) from Walmart. The one issue I have had is that as the filter gets dirty the internal pressure starts to increase dramatically, which has caused the short legs of the top plastic screen to shatter on the 2262/1500XLs requiring it to be replaced. Once you close the door of the cabinet you cant hear it. The Fluval makes a bit more noise than the AquaOne but youve got to be purposefully listening for it. I also have the spray bar from an Eheim 2215 (164 gph) that will be used to pump CO2 into the tank after being diffused. Tanks cycling with two Aquaclear 110s but thinking of upgrading.

#Eheim 2260 vs fluval fx5 series#

07 Series Comparison Charts Fluval 106 vs. Anyone have an opinion 125 gallon planted with maybe 5 piranha. If you are looking for a canister filter that can handle fish tanks that can hold more than 100 gallons, then you can check out our Fluval FX4 vs.

#Eheim 2260 vs fluval fx5 pro#

The hose quick connectors are far better and easier to use. Ive got an FX5 and an AquaOne 2400 on a tank. I want to get a Fluval FX5 (rated at 925 gph) as well as a Hydor Koralia Magnum 5 Circulation Pump/Powerhead (1650 gph). Fluval FX6 or Eheim pro 3 1200XL Ive read good and bad things about both and cant make a decision. The FX6 uses less electricity at 43 watts.Įheim 2262 (1500XL) (I have two of these) and 2217 (I have two of these): Far more flexible since you pack the media however you wish. The hose quick connectors (especially when new) can be very difficult to remove. I had to retire an FX6 due to this problem. Once you take the motor off a few times to clean (especially if you have sand) it becomes difficult to re-attach without it leaking. The weakest part of the filter is the motor mounts on the canister body. I find it can hold enough bio media if you add your own to all three sections. Any finer round pad is always the one that clogs and reduces performance. The outside filter pads hardly get dirty, even after months of use.

eheim 2260 vs fluval fx5

The fluval compared the ehiem I had just performed better. Here re my experiences with them:įluval FX6: I currently have 5 of these running. (I have no issues with my fx5) The ehiem was not bad but it had a much shorter life span and I did have issues with the plastic inlet pipe breaking and I had re-rig my own (its not the same model you were looking at but just my expeience with one of their canisters). At the end of the day, both get the job done.I use both. If you get this, invest in a pair of quick release taps to prevent priming headache whenever you maintain the filter.Īll in all, the Eheim 2260 is brute force while the FX5 has more finesse. It's just a powerhouse filter pure and simple. Not having electronic features also means there's less parts that can malfunction. Being a classic, its simple design does have it advantages such as having no bypass. However, the 2260 being an Eheim is reliable and solid. However, one thing i don't like about the FX5 is its proprietary ribbed hosing that is huge, making running inline stuff like CO2 reactors and chillers a hassle. My FX5 has been running for almost 2 years without issue. A more accurate comparison would be with the Eheim Pro3 or Pro3e series, though neither of them are as powerful as the FX5. I don't think the 2260 is a good comparison with it, as the fx5 comes with more features such as auto priming via electronics and media baskets.












Eheim 2260 vs fluval fx5